Neighbourhood Côte-des-Neiges

History

1653 1663

1653-1663

The natives crossing Rivière des Prairies in the days of Marguerite Bourgeoys passed through these virgin woodlands before climbing the mountain.

1664 1829

1664-1829

A pathway separating the two summits of Mount Royal, Côte-des-Neiges Road was part of a network of roads created by the Sulpicians to organize the development of the territory. The settlement sprang up in 1698 with the installation of some thirty censitaires, or tenants, and the construction of a flour mill by the Sulpicians. Unlike on the rest of the island, plots of land were laid out parallel to Mount Royal to provide access to Raimbault Creek, which had as its course the present-day Côte-des-Neiges Road. The land was fertile, and the plant life rich and varied: it was a farmer's paradise.

In 1737, tanners began to be attracted by the bountiful supply of running water, and, over time, leather making became the region's number one industry. Although fairly close to the city, Côte-des-Neiges was still primarily a rural area, but the construction of the first chapel school in 1814 followed by the opening of the first tavern in 1827 signalled the changes to come.

Image : HM_ARC_005227

Atlas of the City and Island of Montreal Canada, Village Rivière-des-Prairies, Village Sainte-Geneviève, Village Côte-des-Neiges
1879
45 cm
36 cm
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


1664-1829

A pathway separating the two summits of Mount Royal, Côte-des-Neiges Road was part of a network of roads created by the Sulpicians to organize the development of the territory. The settlement sprang up in 1698 with the installation of some thirty censitaires, or tenants, and the construction of a flour mill by the Sulpicians. Unlike on the rest of the island, plots of land were laid out parallel to Mount Royal to provide access to Raimbault Creek, which had as its course the present-day Côte-des-Neiges Road. The land was fertile, and the plant life rich and varied: it was a farmer's paradise.

In 1737, tanners began to be attracted by the bountiful supply of running water, and, over time, leather making became the region's number one industry. Although fairly close to the city, Côte-des-Neiges was still primarily a rural area, but the construction of the first chapel school in 1814 followed by the opening of the first tavern in 1827 signalled the changes to come.

Image : HM_ARC_003732

Map of Notre-Dame-des-Neiges
1778
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004212

Map of village on Côte-des-Neiges Road and irregular lots

© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (G1144 M65G475 CAR), ©Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004361



© Royal Ontario Museum, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003587

Old houses dating from 1692 (Côte-des-Neiges road)

© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte – MAS 1-175-b, © Héritage Montréal


1830 1889

1830-1889

In 1830, Côte-des-Neiges Road was linked to other roads, such as Côte-Sainte-Catherine and Côte-Saint-Luc (now Queen Mary), and the area was becoming a popular rural retreat.

Montreal's economic elite founded snowshoe clubs and a hunt club to take advantage of this green oasis, where small hotels began to appear in 1840. Attracted to its natural environment, tourists and city dwellers alike came to practice various sports, including snowshoeing, tennis, horseback riding on the mountain, and croquet. The Fabrique Notre-Dame opened its cemetery here, and a small Presbyterian church was built on Côte-Sainte-Catherine Road.

The leather-making industry was becoming more and more profitable, and Pierre Claude, mayor of Côte-des-Neiges from 1862 to 1885, owned the largest tannery, located on the site of the present-day Notre-Dame-des Neiges school. Just across the street, the equally busy Benjamin Goyer tannery sold wool and leather. On the down side, the tanneries polluted the water and produced disagreeable odours that permeated the air.

In 1884, a passenger railway linked the downtown core with Côte-Sainte-Catherine Road. In 1889, the area was formed of two municipalities: upper (Town) and lower (Village) Côte-des-Neiges. They were incorporated into Montreal in 1908 and 1910 respectively.

Image : HM_ARC_004203

Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal, QC, 1859
1859
© McCord Museum, © Héritage Montréal


1830-1889

In 1830, Côte-des-Neiges Road was linked to other roads, such as Côte-Sainte-Catherine and Côte-Saint-Luc (now Queen Mary), and the area was becoming a popular rural retreat.

Montreal's economic elite founded snowshoe clubs and a hunt club to take advantage of this green oasis, where small hotels began to appear in 1840. Attracted to its natural environment, tourists and city dwellers alike came to practice various sports, including snowshoeing, tennis, horseback riding on the mountain, and croquet. The Fabrique Notre-Dame opened its cemetery here, and a small Presbyterian church was built on Côte-Sainte-Catherine Road.

The leather-making industry was becoming more and more profitable, and Pierre Claude, mayor of Côte-des-Neiges from 1862 to 1885, owned the largest tannery, located on the site of the present-day Notre-Dame-des Neiges school. Just across the street, the equally busy Benjamin Goyer tannery sold wool and leather. On the down side, the tanneries polluted the water and produced disagreeable odours that permeated the air.

In 1884, a passenger railway linked the downtown core with Côte-Sainte-Catherine Road. In 1889, the area was formed of two municipalities: upper (Town) and lower (Village) Côte-des-Neiges. They were incorporated into Montreal in 1908 and 1910 respectively.

Image : HM_ARC_004206

Montreal, from below Côte des Neiges toll gate, QC, 1859

© McCord Museum, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004089

Capitualtion cottage, Côte-des-Neiges road
1871
© Canadian Architecture Collection, McGill University Library, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004207

John Leeming house and grounds, Côte des Neiges Road, Montreal, 1859
Circa 1859
© McCord Museum, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004319

Lumkin's Hotel, Cote des Neiges, Montreal, QC, 1896
1896
10 cm
12 cm
© McCord Museum, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004187

Engraving showing snowshoers resting after a race

© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, revue d'un autre siècle #5958, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003586

Maison du Club de Chasse à Courre Canadien
1905
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte – MAS 1-173-b, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004217

Fox hunting, Montreal Hunt Club, Montreal, QC, 1906
1906
20 cm
25 cm
© McCord Museum, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_001915

Entrance to Catholic Cemetery, Côte des Neiges Road, Montreal

8.8 cm
13.6 cm
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004959

Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal
Circa 1845
17.5 cm
25 cm
© Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (56.343), Jean-Guy Kérouac (photograph), © Héritage Montréal


1890 1945

1890-1945

With the annexation of Côte-des-Neiges to the City of Montreal, real urban development began to transform the landscape. This process was accelerated in 1925 with the construction of a sewer system, a water filtration plant, and an expanded road network. The neighbourhood was becoming increasingly residential, but it was also home to major religious communities such as the Sainte-Croix congregation (present since 1869), the Company of Jesus, and Catholic, Anglican, and Presbyterian churches. In 1920, the area was served by two tramway lines, and many institutional buildings were constructed: colleges, the University of Montreal, places of worship, and hospitals. With these new institutions came a growing population, and Côte-des-Neiges began to shift from a traditional rural economy to a service economy.

Image : HM_ARC_004242

Map of the Côte-des-Neiges reservoir (with the proposal of the first Côte-des-Neiges reservoir, completed in 1893)

© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, © Héritage Montréal


1890-1945

With the annexation of Côte-des-Neiges to the City of Montreal, real urban development began to transform the landscape. This process was accelerated in 1925 with the construction of a sewer system, a water filtration plant, and an expanded road network. The neighbourhood was becoming increasingly residential, but it was also home to major religious communities such as the Sainte-Croix congregation (present since 1869), the Company of Jesus, and Catholic, Anglican, and Presbyterian churches. In 1920, the area was served by two tramway lines, and many institutional buildings were constructed: colleges, the University of Montreal, places of worship, and hospitals. With these new institutions came a growing population, and Côte-des-Neiges began to shift from a traditional rural economy to a service economy.

Image : HM_ARC_003925

House in Côte-des-Neiges neighbourhood

18.7 cm
25.2 cm
© Société d’histoire de la Côte-des-Neiges, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003926

John Swail's house, Côte-des-Neiges

20.2 cm
25.2 cm
© Société d’histoire de la Côte-des-Neiges, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003927

McKenna family house, Côte-des-Neiges Road

20.2 cm
25.2 cm
© Société d’histoire de la Côte-des-Neiges, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004092

Desmarchais House, Côte-des-Neiges road
1924
© Canadian Architecture Collection, McGill University Library, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003919

Tram station, Côte-des-Neiges

20.5 cm
24.5 cm
© Archives de la STM (2-920-001), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004209

Cabbage field in Côte des Neiges, Montreal, QC, about 1930
Circa 1930
© McCord Museum, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004214

Decelles Avenue, Côte-des-Neiges

© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec(CP 3014),©Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004929

Côte-des-Neiges House
1989-1990
6 cm
6 cm
© Brian Merrett, www.archiguides.com, réf.009X, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002604

First part of Collège Notre-Dame
Circa 1885
© Collège Notre-Dame, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002160

Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf

20 cm
25.1 cm
© Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf, © Héritage Montréal


1946 2008

1946-2008

After World War II, the last remaining farmland began to disappear, and the neighbourhood attracted large numbers of immigrants. The Irish from Griffintown, near the Lachine Canal, moved north to Côte-des-Neiges and founded St. Kevin's Parish. The Jews, who had opened a hospital here in 1934, built a synagogue and a cemetery. Eastern Europeans flocked to the neighbourhood and, over the years, they were joined by other cultural communities. Immigrants from Vietnam, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh settled here, either permanently or on their way to somewhere else. Today, more than 65 percent of the population belongs to cultural communities. The area is still largely residential, with many rental housing units - then called

Image : HM_ARC_002443

Public Library and Côte-des-Neiges Maison de la culture
May 18 1983
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche U-3019-17), © Héritage Montréal


1946-2008

After World War II, the last remaining farmland began to disappear, and the neighbourhood attracted large numbers of immigrants. The Irish from Griffintown, near the Lachine Canal, moved north to Côte-des-Neiges and founded St. Kevin's Parish. The Jews, who had opened a hospital here in 1934, built a synagogue and a cemetery. Eastern Europeans flocked to the neighbourhood and, over the years, they were joined by other cultural communities. Immigrants from Vietnam, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh settled here, either permanently or on their way to somewhere else. Today, more than 65 percent of the population belongs to cultural communities. The area is still largely residential, with many rental housing units - then called

Image : HM_ARC_002435

Corner of Côte-des-Neiges and Queen Mary Road
Circa 1955
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche U-697-10), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002433

Côte-des-Neiges Road in 1955
November 18 1955
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche U-695-3), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002438

Ski lift and ski jump, Côte-des-Neiges
February 9 1972
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche U-1102-9), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002449

Aerial view of ski jump, Côte-des-Neiges
February 4 1978
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche BC-228-64), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002461

Queen Mary Road and Côte-des-Neiges towards the east
1937
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (VM98 S4 SS1 D4), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002448

Aerial view of Kent Park, Côte-des-Neiges
September 30 1976
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche BC-209-187), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002244

Aerial view towards the south of Université de Montreal

© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (R-4034.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003293

Aerial view of Côte-des-Neiges metro station model
June 17 1983
2.3 cm
3.4 cm
© Fonds de Commission de transport de Montréal, Archives de la STM(S10/10.4.1), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005013

View of the Côte-des-Neiges neighbourhood near the Décarie expressway

© Arrondissement Côte-des-Neiges/Notre-Dame-de-Grâce/Patrick Deslandes, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005014

View of the Côte-des-Neiges neighbourhood with Saint-Joseph Oratory

© Arrondissement Côte-des-Neiges/Notre-Dame-de-Grâce/Patrick Deslandes, © Héritage Montréal

quartier Côte-des-Neiges

Son histoire

1653 1663

1653-1663

Les autochtones qui traversent la rivière des Prairies, à l'époque de Marguerite Bourgeoys, passent par ce secteur, alors vierge, pour franchir la montagne.

1664 1829

1664-1829

Sentier séparant les deux massifs du mont Royal, le chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges fait partie d'un ensemble de routes établies par les Sulpiciens dans le but d'organiser le développement du territoire. Le quartier naît en 1698 avec l'installation d'une trentaine de censitaires et la construction d'un moulin à farine par les Sulpiciens. Les lots, contrairement au reste de l'île, sont parallèles au mont Royal, car ils sont perpendiculaires au ruisseau Raimbault. Les sols sont fertiles, leur flore est riche et variée, c'est un paradis pour les cultivateurs et les agriculteurs.

Dès 1737, des tanneurs s'installent tout au long du ruisseau, et font progressivement de la fabrication du cuir la plus importante industrie du lieu.

À l'époque, la côte des Neiges est essentiellement rurale et pourtant assez proche de la ville. Mais l'apparition d'une première chapelle-école en 1814, et l'ouverture, en 1827, d'une première taverne annoncent un développement prochain.

Image : HM_ARC_005227

Atlas de Montréal, Village Rivière-des-Prairies, Village Sainte-Geneviève, Village Côte-des-Neiges
1879
Carte
45 cm
36 cm
Dinu Bumbaru
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


1664-1829

Sentier séparant les deux massifs du mont Royal, le chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges fait partie d'un ensemble de routes établies par les Sulpiciens dans le but d'organiser le développement du territoire. Le quartier naît en 1698 avec l'installation d'une trentaine de censitaires et la construction d'un moulin à farine par les Sulpiciens. Les lots, contrairement au reste de l'île, sont parallèles au mont Royal, car ils sont perpendiculaires au ruisseau Raimbault. Les sols sont fertiles, leur flore est riche et variée, c'est un paradis pour les cultivateurs et les agriculteurs.

Dès 1737, des tanneurs s'installent tout au long du ruisseau, et font progressivement de la fabrication du cuir la plus importante industrie du lieu.

À l'époque, la côte des Neiges est essentiellement rurale et pourtant assez proche de la ville. Mais l'apparition d'une première chapelle-école en 1814, et l'ouverture, en 1827, d'une première taverne annoncent un développement prochain.

Image : HM_ARC_003732

Carte de Notre-Dame-des-Neiges
1778
Carte
BANQ
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004212

Noyau villageois le long du chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges et lots irréguliers

Carte
BANQ
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (G1144 M65G475 CAR), ©Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004361

Tannerie de Côte-des-Neiges

Aquarelle
Royal Ontario Museum
© Royal Ontario Museum, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003587

Vieilles maisons datant de 1692 (Chemin Côte-des-Neiges)

Photographie
BANQ, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte – MAS 1-175-b, © Héritage Montréal


1830 1889

1830-1889

À partir de 1830, le chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges est relié aux autres chemins, comme ceux de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine et de la Côte-Saint-Luc (Queen-Mary aujourd'hui), et devient progressivement un lieu de villégiature.

L'élite économique montréalaise fonde de populaires clubs de raquettes et un club de chasse à courre pour profiter de ce coin de verdure où de petits hôtels sont construits à partir de 1840. Les touristes et les citadins s'y rendent, attirés par son caractère champêtre, pour y pratiquer divers sports : raquette, tennis, équitation autour de la montagne, croquet et d'autres. La Fabrique Notre-Dame y ouvre son cimetière et une petite église presbytérienne loge sur la rue Côte-Sainte-Catherine.

Les tanneries forment une industrie des plus productives. Pierre Claude, le maire de Côte-des-Neiges entre 1862 et 1885, est propriétaire de la plus importante tannerie, située sur l'emplacement actuel de l'école Notre-Dame-des-Neiges. En face, la tannerie Benjamin Goyer qui vend du cuir et de la laine est également très active. Par contre, les tanneries salissent les eaux et laissent planer dans le secteur des odeurs désagréables.

Depuis 1884, un chemin de fer relie le quartier au centre-ville par le chemin de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine. À partir de 1889, le quartier est formé de deux municipalités : le haut (Ville) et le bas (Village) Côte-des-Neiges. Elles sont incorporées à Montréal en 1908 et 1910.

Image : HM_ARC_004203

Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal, QC, 1859
1859
Photographie
Musée McCord
© Musée McCord, © Héritage Montréal


1830-1889

À partir de 1830, le chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges est relié aux autres chemins, comme ceux de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine et de la Côte-Saint-Luc (Queen-Mary aujourd'hui), et devient progressivement un lieu de villégiature.

L'élite économique montréalaise fonde de populaires clubs de raquettes et un club de chasse à courre pour profiter de ce coin de verdure où de petits hôtels sont construits à partir de 1840. Les touristes et les citadins s'y rendent, attirés par son caractère champêtre, pour y pratiquer divers sports : raquette, tennis, équitation autour de la montagne, croquet et d'autres. La Fabrique Notre-Dame y ouvre son cimetière et une petite église presbytérienne loge sur la rue Côte-Sainte-Catherine.

Les tanneries forment une industrie des plus productives. Pierre Claude, le maire de Côte-des-Neiges entre 1862 et 1885, est propriétaire de la plus importante tannerie, située sur l'emplacement actuel de l'école Notre-Dame-des-Neiges. En face, la tannerie Benjamin Goyer qui vend du cuir et de la laine est également très active. Par contre, les tanneries salissent les eaux et laissent planer dans le secteur des odeurs désagréables.

Depuis 1884, un chemin de fer relie le quartier au centre-ville par le chemin de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine. À partir de 1889, le quartier est formé de deux municipalités : le haut (Ville) et le bas (Village) Côte-des-Neiges. Elles sont incorporées à Montréal en 1908 et 1910.

Image : HM_ARC_004206

Vue de Montréal depuis la barrière de péage du chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges, QC, 1859

Photographie
Musée McCord
© Musée McCord, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004089

Capitulation cottage, chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges
1871
Aquarelle
Université McGill
© Collection d’architecture canadienne, Bibliothèque de l’Université McGill, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004207

Propriété de John Leeming, chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal, QC, 1859
Vers 1859
Photographie
Musée McCord
© Musée McCord, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004319

Hôtel Lumkin, Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal, QC, 1896
1896
Photographie
10 cm
12 cm
Musée McCord
© Musée McCord, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004187

Plaisirs d'autrefois; gravure représentant des raquetteurs au repos suite à une course

Coupure de presse
BANQ
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, revue d'un autre siècle #5958 , © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003586

Maison du Club de Chasse à Courre Canadien
1905
Impression
BANQ, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte – MAS 1-173-b, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004217

Chasse au renard, Montreal Hunt Club, Montréal, QC, 1906
1906
Photographie
20 cm
25 cm
Musée McCord
© Musée McCord, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_001915

Entrée du cimetière catholique, chemin Côte-des-Neiges

Carte postale
8.8 cm
13.6 cm
Dinu Bumbaru
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004959

Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal
Vers 1845
Aquarelle
17.5 cm
25 cm
Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec
© Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (56.343), Jean-Guy Kérouac (photographe), © Héritage Montréal


1890 1945

1890-1945

Avec l'annexion de Côte-des-Neiges à la Ville de Montréal, un réel développement urbain transforme le paysage. Il prend véritablement de l'ampleur en 1925 avec l'installation de l'eau potable, l'implantation d'un réseau d'égouts et le développement plus intensif des routes. Le quartier devient de plus en plus résidentiel, mais il accueille aussi d'importantes communautés religieuses telles que la Congrégation de Sainte-Croix (présente depuis 1869), la Compagnie de Jésus, des églises catholiques ainsi que des temples anglicans et presbytériens. Nombre de bâtiments institutionnels sont d'ailleurs construits surtout après 1920 alors que deux lignes de tramways desservent le secteur : collèges, université de Montréal, lieux de culte, hôpitaux. La venue de ces institutions entraîne un accroissement de la population. D'une économie rurale et artisanale, Côte-des-Neiges passe à une économie de services.

Image : HM_ARC_004242

Carte du réservoir de Côte-des-Neiges (avec proposition du premier réservoir de Côte-des-Neiges, réalisé en 1893)

Carte
BANQ
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, © Héritage Montréal


1890-1945

Avec l'annexion de Côte-des-Neiges à la Ville de Montréal, un réel développement urbain transforme le paysage. Il prend véritablement de l'ampleur en 1925 avec l'installation de l'eau potable, l'implantation d'un réseau d'égouts et le développement plus intensif des routes. Le quartier devient de plus en plus résidentiel, mais il accueille aussi d'importantes communautés religieuses telles que la Congrégation de Sainte-Croix (présente depuis 1869), la Compagnie de Jésus, des églises catholiques ainsi que des temples anglicans et presbytériens. Nombre de bâtiments institutionnels sont d'ailleurs construits surtout après 1920 alors que deux lignes de tramways desservent le secteur : collèges, université de Montréal, lieux de culte, hôpitaux. La venue de ces institutions entraîne un accroissement de la population. D'une économie rurale et artisanale, Côte-des-Neiges passe à une économie de services.

Image : HM_ARC_003925

Maison dans le quartier Côte-des-Neiges

Photographie
18.7 cm
25.2 cm
Société d'histoire de la Côte-des-Neiges
© Société d’histoire de la Côte-des-Neiges, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003926

Maison de John Swail à Côte-des-Neiges

Photographie
20.2 cm
25.2 cm
Société d'histoire de la Côte-des-Neiges
© Société d’histoire de la Côte-des-Neiges, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003927

Maison de la famille McKenna sur la Côte-des-Neiges

Photographie
20.2 cm
25.2 cm
Société d'histoire de la Côte-des-Neiges
© Société d’histoire de la Côte-des-Neiges, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004092

Maison Desmarchais, chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges
1924
Photographie
Université McGill
© Collection d’architecture canadienne, Bibliothèque de l’Université McGill, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003919

Station de tramway à Côte-des-Neiges

Photographie
20.5 cm
24.5 cm
Société de transport de Montréal
© Archives de la STM (2-920-001), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004209

Champ de choux dans Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal, QC, vers 1930
Vers 1930
Photographie
Musée McCord
© Musée McCord, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004214

Avenue Decelles, Côte-des-Neiges

Photographie
BANQ
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec(CP 3014),©Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004929

Maison de la Côte-des-Neiges
1989-1990
Photographie
6 cm
6 cm
Brian Merrett
© Brian Merrett, www.archiguides.com, réf.009X, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002604

Première partie du collège Notre-Dame
Vers 1885
Dessin
Collège Notre-Dame
© Collège Notre-Dame, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002160

Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf

Photographie
20 cm
25.1 cm
Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf
© Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf, © Héritage Montréal


1946 2008

1946-2008

Après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, les dernières terres agricoles disparaissent et le quartier vit une période d'immigration massive. Les Irlandais de Griffintown, près du canal Lachine, se déplacent vers Côte-des-Neiges et fondent la paroisse St Kevin. Les Juifs, qui ont un hôpital depuis 1934, ouvrent une synagogue et un cimetière. Des Européens de l'Est s'installent nombreux. Avec les années, d'autres communautés culturelles s'ajoutent à celles déjà présentes. Les Vietnamiens, tout comme les Sri Lankais et Bangladeshi arrivent sur cette terre d'accueil ou de passage : plus de 65 pourcent de la population est aujourd'hui issue des communautés culturelles. Le caractère résidentiel du secteur reste donc marquant, avec plusieurs immeubles à logements locatifs, alors appelés flats.

Le réseau routier se consolide et se densifie et des parcs sont aménagés dans les années 1960, notamment le parc Jean-Brillant. De nouveaux pavillons universitaires se construisent et l'École des Hautes études commerciales est érigée en 1970 sur la rue Decelles. Une nouvelle ligne de métro dessert le secteur depuis la fin des années 1980.

Image : HM_ARC_002443

Bibliothèque publique et maison de la culture de Côte-des-Neiges
18 mai 1983
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche U-3019-17), © Héritage Montréal


1946-2008

Après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, les dernières terres agricoles disparaissent et le quartier vit une période d'immigration massive. Les Irlandais de Griffintown, près du canal Lachine, se déplacent vers Côte-des-Neiges et fondent la paroisse St Kevin. Les Juifs, qui ont un hôpital depuis 1934, ouvrent une synagogue et un cimetière. Des Européens de l'Est s'installent nombreux. Avec les années, d'autres communautés culturelles s'ajoutent à celles déjà présentes. Les Vietnamiens, tout comme les Sri Lankais et Bangladeshi arrivent sur cette terre d'accueil ou de passage : plus de 65 pourcent de la population est aujourd'hui issue des communautés culturelles. Le caractère résidentiel du secteur reste donc marquant, avec plusieurs immeubles à logements locatifs, alors appelés flats.

Le réseau routier se consolide et se densifie et des parcs sont aménagés dans les années 1960, notamment le parc Jean-Brillant. De nouveaux pavillons universitaires se construisent et l'École des Hautes études commerciales est érigée en 1970 sur la rue Decelles. Une nouvelle ligne de métro dessert le secteur depuis la fin des années 1980.

Image : HM_ARC_002435

Coin des chemins de la Côte-des-Neiges et Queen-Mary
Vers 1955
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche U-697-10), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002433

Chemin Côte-des-Neiges en 1955
18 novembre 1955
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche U-695-3), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002438

Remontée et saut à ski, Côte-des-Neiges
9 février 1972
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche U-1102-9), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002449

Vue aérienne du saut à ski, Côte-des-Neiges
4 février 1978
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche BC-228-64), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002461

Chemin Queen-Mary et de la Côte-des-Neiges vers l'Est
1937
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (VM98 S4 SS1 D4), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002448

Vue aérienne du parc Kent, Côte-des-Neiges
30 septembre 1976
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Microfiche BC-209-187), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002244

Vue aérienne vers le sud de l'Université de Montréal

Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (R-4034.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003293

Vue aérienne de la maquette de la station Côte-des-Neiges
17 juin 1983
Diapositive
2.3 cm
3.4 cm
Archives de la Société des transports de Montréal
© Fonds de Commission de transport de Montréal, Archives de la STM(S10/10.4.1), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005013

Vue du quartier Côte-des-Neiges à proximité de l'autoroute

Photographie
Arrondissement Côte-des-Neiges/Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
© Arrondissement Côte-des-Neiges/Notre-Dame-de-Grâce/Patrick Deslandes, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005014

Vue sur le quartier Côte-des-Neiges avec l'Oratoire au loin

Photographie
Arrondissement Côte-des-Neiges/Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
© Arrondissement Côte-des-Neiges/Notre-Dame-de-Grâce/Patrick Deslandes, © Héritage Montréal