Neighbourhood Pointe-Saint-Charles

History

1654 1826

1654-1826

A rural landscape marked by religious communities

Before the arrival of the Europeans and up until the 19th century, the Aboriginals fished and hunted geese in this marshy land, originally called Teiontiakon (the name given by the Aboriginals to the tips of the island of Montreal).

In 1654, after the founding of Montreal, Charles Lemoyne acquired this land, named Pointe-Saint-Charles in his honour. A few years later, various religious communities took over the Point. In 1659, the Sulpicians established the Saint-Gabriel farm on a plot of land stretching from the Saint-Pierre meadow to the property of Nicolas Millet. Marguerite Bourgeoys, founder of the Notre-Dame Congregation, later acquired the farmstead and used it to house the Filles du Roy (Daughters of the King) (now the Maison Saint-Gabriel). A smallholding (farm) and a workroom for the education of the girls were also built. In 1737, the Sisters of Charity of Marguerite d'Youville joined the other communities. At the time, the neighbourhood was agricultural, crossed by the former Lower Lachine Road. It consisted of just a few rustic homes.

Image : HM_ARC_003535

Wellington Street and Maison Saint-Gabriel

© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte – MAS 8-161-b, © Héritage Montréal


1654-1826

A rural landscape marked by religious communities

Before the arrival of the Europeans and up until the 19th century, the Aboriginals fished and hunted geese in this marshy land, originally called Teiontiakon (the name given by the Aboriginals to the tips of the island of Montreal).

In 1654, after the founding of Montreal, Charles Lemoyne acquired this land, named Pointe-Saint-Charles in his honour. A few years later, various religious communities took over the Point. In 1659, the Sulpicians established the Saint-Gabriel farm on a plot of land stretching from the Saint-Pierre meadow to the property of Nicolas Millet. Marguerite Bourgeoys, founder of the Notre-Dame Congregation, later acquired the farmstead and used it to house the Filles du Roy (Daughters of the King) (now the Maison Saint-Gabriel). A smallholding (farm) and a workroom for the education of the girls were also built. In 1737, the Sisters of Charity of Marguerite d'Youville joined the other communities. At the time, the neighbourhood was agricultural, crossed by the former Lower Lachine Road. It consisted of just a few rustic homes.

Image : HM_ARC_004303

Marguerite Bourgeoys

6.9 cm
6.8 cm
© McCord Museum, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_001943

On the Lower Lachine Road

8.6 cm
13.5 cm
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


1826 1875

1826-1875

Industrial explosion

During this period, the landscape underwent a radical transformation. In 1826, a group of business men financed the construction of a canal between Lachine and Montreal to compete with the Erie Canal. The construction of the Grand Trunk Railway and of Victoria Bridge, inaugurated in 1860, stimulated economic and population growth and a real estate boom. Numerous companies located along the banks of the canal, widened for the first time between 1843 and 1848: the industrial complex of railway shops (then the largest in Canada), hydraulic energy, the Pillow & Hersey Manufacturing Company, Ostell doors and window sashes, the Redpath sugar refinery, etc.

New jobs were created, attracting many workers. Skilled labourers from England and Scotland, primarily Protestants, worked in construction, drove locomotives, and settled in the south end of Pointe-Saint-Charles. French Canadians and Irish Catholics lived further north and formed a pool of uneducated local workers.

Beginning in the second half of the nineteenth century, an upsurge in residential construction began to transform the still relatively unurbanized neighbourhood. Real estate developers bought up land, divided it into plots, and resold it to contractors, who built flat-roofed row houses for the workers, built on the model of industrial cities in England.

Image : HM_ARC_004621

Victoria bridge with sleigh and ice vendors

© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM6-D780-21-3(1)), © Héritage Montréal


1826-1875

Industrial explosion

During this period, the landscape underwent a radical transformation. In 1826, a group of business men financed the construction of a canal between Lachine and Montreal to compete with the Erie Canal. The construction of the Grand Trunk Railway and of Victoria Bridge, inaugurated in 1860, stimulated economic and population growth and a real estate boom. Numerous companies located along the banks of the canal, widened for the first time between 1843 and 1848: the industrial complex of railway shops (then the largest in Canada), hydraulic energy, the Pillow & Hersey Manufacturing Company, Ostell doors and window sashes, the Redpath sugar refinery, etc.

New jobs were created, attracting many workers. Skilled labourers from England and Scotland, primarily Protestants, worked in construction, drove locomotives, and settled in the south end of Pointe-Saint-Charles. French Canadians and Irish Catholics lived further north and formed a pool of uneducated local workers.

Beginning in the second half of the nineteenth century, an upsurge in residential construction began to transform the still relatively unurbanized neighbourhood. Real estate developers bought up land, divided it into plots, and resold it to contractors, who built flat-roofed row houses for the workers, built on the model of industrial cities in England.

Image : HM_ARC_005107

Aerial view of the Grand Trunk Workshops
Circa 1930
© Library and Archives Canada / PA-37500, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005215

Atlas of the City and Island of Montreal, Plate N, Pointe-Saint-Charles
1879
45 cm
72 cm
© Dinu Bumbaru / © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004913

Redpath Sugar Building

© Parks Canada, Lachine Canal NHSC, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004981

Shipping out, horse-trucks for the delivery of Redpath sugar to the British governement
Circa 1916
© Redpath Sugar Museum, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005600

Working-class homes, de Sébastopol Street

21.5 cm
27.8 cm
© David Hanna, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005158



2.5 cm
3.5 cm
© Jean Bélisle, © Héritage Montréal


1876 1930

1876-1930

Industrial peak

Toward the end of the 19th century, Pointe-Saint-Charles was the largest industrial sector in Montreal and all of Canada. In 1875, 75of the neighbourhood's largely Irish population spoke English, and the remaining 25were French Canadians. That year, real estate developers created the Village of Saint Gabriel in the east end of Pointe-Saint-Charles; it was annexed to Montreal two years later.

The various communities put their individual stamp on their respective living environments. Presbyterian, Anglican, Baptist, and Methodist churches were built on Wellington Street, one of the neighbourhood's major thoroughfares. The Irish Saint Gabriel church and the French Canadian Saint-Charles church appeared on Centre Street. Polish, Ukrainian, and African American immigrants joined those cultural groups already present. Many multiple-unit buildings were constructed between 1880 and 1920. In addition to the working-class housing, more elaborate homes were built for the skilled workers and the local middle class. Working conditions were poor, and strikes by factory workers broke out in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

The last agricultural lands, owned by the Sulpicians, were bought by industrialists in 1879. The gigantic Northern Electric factory was opened there, and the Canadian National completely rebuilt the railway shops.

A few parks were developed: Monahan Park in 1910 (renamed Marguerite Bourgeoys Park in 1922), the Fafard playing field in 1932, then Leber and Argenson Parks. The local schools - Lorne, Saint-Gabriel, and Saint-Charles - provided children with a high-quality education.

Image : HM_ARC_005501

Marguerite-Bourgeoys park

20.3 cm
20.3 cm
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM6-D1901.135), © Héritage Montréal


1876-1930

Industrial peak

Toward the end of the 19th century, Pointe-Saint-Charles was the largest industrial sector in Montreal and all of Canada. In 1875, 75of the neighbourhood's largely Irish population spoke English, and the remaining 25were French Canadians. That year, real estate developers created the Village of Saint Gabriel in the east end of Pointe-Saint-Charles; it was annexed to Montreal two years later.

The various communities put their individual stamp on their respective living environments. Presbyterian, Anglican, Baptist, and Methodist churches were built on Wellington Street, one of the neighbourhood's major thoroughfares. The Irish Saint Gabriel church and the French Canadian Saint-Charles church appeared on Centre Street. Polish, Ukrainian, and African American immigrants joined those cultural groups already present. Many multiple-unit buildings were constructed between 1880 and 1920. In addition to the working-class housing, more elaborate homes were built for the skilled workers and the local middle class. Working conditions were poor, and strikes by factory workers broke out in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

The last agricultural lands, owned by the Sulpicians, were bought by industrialists in 1879. The gigantic Northern Electric factory was opened there, and the Canadian National completely rebuilt the railway shops.

A few parks were developed: Monahan Park in 1910 (renamed Marguerite Bourgeoys Park in 1922), the Fafard playing field in 1932, then Leber and Argenson Parks. The local schools - Lorne, Saint-Gabriel, and Saint-Charles - provided children with a high-quality education.

Image : HM_ARC_004255

Stone commemorating 6000 immigrant deaths, Point St. Charles, QC, 1898
1898
12 cm
10 cm
© McCord Museum, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003005

Alexandra Hospital, Point St. Charles

8.7 cm
13.7 cm
© Dinu Bumbaru © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004541

Old Church Saint Gabriel before the fire

©Fondation du patrimoine religieux du Québec, ©Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004506

Saint-Charles Church

©Fondation du patrimoine religieux du Québec, ©Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_001860

Wellington Street, Pointe-Saint-Charles

8.5 cm
13.5 cm
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


1931 1965

1931-1965

Industrial decline

The Great Depression of the 1930's put a damper on the district's economic activity. In the following decades, the intensive development of the highway system, the opening of the St. Lawrence Seaway, and the closing of the Lachine Canal all robbed the sector of the industrial vitality generated in the nineteenth century.

Despite the expansion of manufacturing output spurred by World War II, which benefited companies such as Northern Electric, the region's companies and factories had ceased to thrive and began moving to new industrial areas near transportation routes on the outskirts of the city. Many of the residents lost their jobs or moved away. From the high of 30,000 inhabitants in 1931, the population had dropped to 13,000 by 1991.

To survive this decline, the residents closed ranks. A true pioneer in the development of community action in Quebec, Pointe-Saint-Charles created tools to fight the falling standard of living, the pollution linked to the many years of industrial activity, the deterioration of neighbourhood life, and the poor housing quality.

Leisure activities, sports teams, choirs, theatre, picnics, and other activities were organized by and for the residents. This solidarity gave the neighbourhood the atmosphere of a proud and dignified village.

Image : HM_ARC_002303

Northern Electric building and CN sector
July 1930
© Courtesy of Bell Canada Historical Collection, © Héritage Montréal


1931-1965

Industrial decline

The Great Depression of the 1930's put a damper on the district's economic activity. In the following decades, the intensive development of the highway system, the opening of the St. Lawrence Seaway, and the closing of the Lachine Canal all robbed the sector of the industrial vitality generated in the nineteenth century.

Despite the expansion of manufacturing output spurred by World War II, which benefited companies such as Northern Electric, the region's companies and factories had ceased to thrive and began moving to new industrial areas near transportation routes on the outskirts of the city. Many of the residents lost their jobs or moved away. From the high of 30,000 inhabitants in 1931, the population had dropped to 13,000 by 1991.

To survive this decline, the residents closed ranks. A true pioneer in the development of community action in Quebec, Pointe-Saint-Charles created tools to fight the falling standard of living, the pollution linked to the many years of industrial activity, the deterioration of neighbourhood life, and the poor housing quality.

Leisure activities, sports teams, choirs, theatre, picnics, and other activities were organized by and for the residents. This solidarity gave the neighbourhood the atmosphere of a proud and dignified village.

Image : HM_ARC_004373

Group of workers posing in front of Northern Electric

© Bell Canada Historical Collection, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002290

Women assembling telephone cords (Northern Electric)
Before 1930
© Courtesy of Bell Canada Historical Collection, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005509

Neighbourhood life: Pointe-Saint-Charles houses

© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM94-EM1481-12.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005483

Post office on Centre Street

24.1 cm
17.8 cm
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (R-3831.2(1679-2875).002, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005440

Pointe-Saint-Charles YMCA front with half-moon windows

© Concordia University Archives, © Héritage Montréal


1966 2008

1966-2008

The invincible neighbourhood

Though linked to the city by two tunnels (Atwater and Wellington) and two bridges (Charlevoix and Des Seigneurs), the neighbourhood is split by railroad tracks and, aside from the Charlevoix metro station, opened in 1978, is poorly served by public transit. Launched in the early 1980s, PIQA (a program to revitalize old neighbourhoods) promotes the renovation and beautification of streets, alley ways, and buildings.

Community groups continue to be pro-active in areas related to the fight against poverty and the improvement of living conditions. The community clinic (prototype for the CLSC), community legal services, the housing information committee, Action-Gardien, and many co-ops are examples of the energy and determination demonstrated by residents.

In 1997, the new revitalization plan, with its policies for stimulating local employment and improving housing, began to revive the neighbourhood. The creation of many new housing units, the recycling of industrial buildings into business incubators, lofts, and condos, the 2002 re-opening of the canal as a recreation and tourism area, the improvement of public spaces, and heritage enhancement have all helped transform the neighbourhood and attract new residents.

Image : HM_ARC_002644

Back view of Ferme Saint-Gabriel from the LeBer Park
2000
© Ville de Montréal, SDCQMVDE, Direction des grands parcs et de la nature en ville, © Héritage Montréal


1966-2008

The invincible neighbourhood

Though linked to the city by two tunnels (Atwater and Wellington) and two bridges (Charlevoix and Des Seigneurs), the neighbourhood is split by railroad tracks and, aside from the Charlevoix metro station, opened in 1978, is poorly served by public transit. Launched in the early 1980s, PIQA (a program to revitalize old neighbourhoods) promotes the renovation and beautification of streets, alley ways, and buildings.

Community groups continue to be pro-active in areas related to the fight against poverty and the improvement of living conditions. The community clinic (prototype for the CLSC), community legal services, the housing information committee, Action-Gardien, and many co-ops are examples of the energy and determination demonstrated by residents.

In 1997, the new revitalization plan, with its policies for stimulating local employment and improving housing, began to revive the neighbourhood. The creation of many new housing units, the recycling of industrial buildings into business incubators, lofts, and condos, the 2002 re-opening of the canal as a recreation and tourism area, the improvement of public spaces, and heritage enhancement have all helped transform the neighbourhood and attract new residents.

Image : HM_ARC_005493

Community clinic on Dublin Street

12.7 cm
17.8 cm
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion des documents et archives(R-4657.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005515

Neighbourhood life: Pointe-Saint-Charles houses

© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM94-EM1481-56.1), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005512

Neighbourhood life: Pointe-Saint-Charles houses

© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM94-EM1481-3.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005516

Neighbourhood life: Pointe-Saint-Charles houses

© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM94-EM1481-58.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002670

Aerial view of LeBer Park and Saint-Gabriel farmhouse

© Ville de Montréal, SDCQMVDE, Direction des grands parcs et de la nature en ville (DM5 #134 105), © Héritage Montréal

quartier Pointe-Saint-Charles

Son histoire

1654 1826

1654-1826

Un paysage rural dessiné par les communautés religieuses

Avant la venue des Européens et jusqu'au 19e siècle, les autochtones pêchent et chassent l'oie sur ce territoire marécageux nommé à l'origine Teiontiakon (nom donné par les autochtones aux pointes de l'île à Montréal).

En 1654, après la fondation de Montréal, Charles Lemoyne reçoit cette terre qui porte en son honneur le nom de Pointe-Saint-Charles. Quelques années plus tard, diverses communautés religieuses s'approprient la pointe. Les Sulpiciens établissent en 1659 la ferme Saint-Gabriel sur d'immenses terres, allant de la prairie Saint-Pierre à la concession d'un certain Nicolas Millet. Marguerite Bourgeoys de la Congrégation Notre-Dame acquiert ensuite la ferme déjà existante pour éventuellement loger les Filles du Roy dans une ferme (aujourd'hui Maison Saint-Gabriel). Une métairie et un ouvroir pour l'éducation des filles sont également construits. En 1737, les Soeurs de la Charité de Marguerite d'Youville se joignent aux autres communautés. Le quartier est à l'époque un paysage agricole, avec l'ancien Lower Lachine Road qui le traverse. Il n'y a que quelques maisons villageoises.

Image : HM_ARC_003535

Rue Wellington et Maison Saint-Gabriel

Dessin
BANQ, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte – MAS 8-161-b, © Héritage Montréal


1654-1826

Un paysage rural dessiné par les communautés religieuses

Avant la venue des Européens et jusqu'au 19e siècle, les autochtones pêchent et chassent l'oie sur ce territoire marécageux nommé à l'origine Teiontiakon (nom donné par les autochtones aux pointes de l'île à Montréal).

En 1654, après la fondation de Montréal, Charles Lemoyne reçoit cette terre qui porte en son honneur le nom de Pointe-Saint-Charles. Quelques années plus tard, diverses communautés religieuses s'approprient la pointe. Les Sulpiciens établissent en 1659 la ferme Saint-Gabriel sur d'immenses terres, allant de la prairie Saint-Pierre à la concession d'un certain Nicolas Millet. Marguerite Bourgeoys de la Congrégation Notre-Dame acquiert ensuite la ferme déjà existante pour éventuellement loger les Filles du Roy dans une ferme (aujourd'hui Maison Saint-Gabriel). Une métairie et un ouvroir pour l'éducation des filles sont également construits. En 1737, les Soeurs de la Charité de Marguerite d'Youville se joignent aux autres communautés. Le quartier est à l'époque un paysage agricole, avec l'ancien Lower Lachine Road qui le traverse. Il n'y a que quelques maisons villageoises.

Image : HM_ARC_004303

Marguerite Bourgeoys

Estampe
6.9 cm
6.8 cm
Musée McCord
© Musée McCord, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_001943

Vue du chemin Lower Lachine

Carte postale
8.6 cm
13.5 cm
Dinu Bumbaru
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


1826 1875

1826-1875

Explosion industrielle

Le paysage se transforme radicalement. Dès 1826, des hommes d'affaires financent la construction d'un canal entre Lachine et Montréal pour répondre à la concurrence du canal Érié. La construction de la grande ligne ferroviaire du Grand Tronc et celle du pont Victoria inauguré en 1860 stimulent tout autant la croissance économique que démographique et immobilière. Diverses entreprises occupent les berges du canal, élargi une première fois entre 1843 et 1848 : le complexe industriel des ateliers ferroviaires (alors le plus gros au Canada), l'énergie hydraulique, les fabriques métallurgiques Pillow, Hersey, les portes et châssis Ostell, la raffinerie de sucre de Redpath, etc.

De nouveaux emplois sont créés, attirant une importante main-d'oeuvre. Ces ouvriers spécialisés venus d'Angleterre et d'Écosse, principalement protestants, sont engagés dans la construction et la conduite de locomotives et s'installent dans le sud du quartier. Canadiens-français et Irlandais catholiques vivent plutôt au nord et forment une main-d'oeuvre locale peu scolarisée.

À partir de la deuxième moitié du 19e siècle, un intense mouvement de construction résidentielle transforme le milieu jusqu'alors relativement peu urbanisé. Des promoteurs immobiliers acquièrent des terrains, lotissent et revendent à des entrepreneurs pour loger la population ouvrière dans des maisons en rangée à toit plat. Le quartier affiche un visage de banlieue industrielle britannique.

Image : HM_ARC_004621

Pont Victoria avec carrioles et vendeurs de glace

Estampe
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM6-D780-21-3(1)), © Héritage Montréal


1826-1875

Explosion industrielle

Le paysage se transforme radicalement. Dès 1826, des hommes d'affaires financent la construction d'un canal entre Lachine et Montréal pour répondre à la concurrence du canal Érié. La construction de la grande ligne ferroviaire du Grand Tronc et celle du pont Victoria inauguré en 1860 stimulent tout autant la croissance économique que démographique et immobilière. Diverses entreprises occupent les berges du canal, élargi une première fois entre 1843 et 1848 : le complexe industriel des ateliers ferroviaires (alors le plus gros au Canada), l'énergie hydraulique, les fabriques métallurgiques Pillow, Hersey, les portes et châssis Ostell, la raffinerie de sucre de Redpath, etc.

De nouveaux emplois sont créés, attirant une importante main-d'oeuvre. Ces ouvriers spécialisés venus d'Angleterre et d'Écosse, principalement protestants, sont engagés dans la construction et la conduite de locomotives et s'installent dans le sud du quartier. Canadiens-français et Irlandais catholiques vivent plutôt au nord et forment une main-d'oeuvre locale peu scolarisée.

À partir de la deuxième moitié du 19e siècle, un intense mouvement de construction résidentielle transforme le milieu jusqu'alors relativement peu urbanisé. Des promoteurs immobiliers acquièrent des terrains, lotissent et revendent à des entrepreneurs pour loger la population ouvrière dans des maisons en rangée à toit plat. Le quartier affiche un visage de banlieue industrielle britannique.

Image : HM_ARC_005107

Vue aérienne des Ateliers du Grand Tronc
Vers 1930
Photographie
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-37500, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005215

Atlas de Montréal, planche N, Pointe-Saint-Charles
1879
Carte
45 cm
72 cm
Dinu Bumbaru
© Dinu Bumbaru / © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004913

Bâtiment de la Redpath Sugar

Photographie
Parcs Canada
© Parcs Canada, LhnC du Canal-de-Lachine, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004981

Wagons à chevaux pour la livraison de sucre Redpath au gouvernement britannique
Vers 1916
Photographie
Redpath Sugar Museum
© Redpath Sugar Museum, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005600

Maisons ouvrières sur la rue Sébastopol

Dessin
21.5 cm
27.8 cm
David Hanna
© David Hanna, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005158

Maisons ouvrières

Diapositive
2.5 cm
3.5 cm
Jean Bélisle
© Jean Bélisle, © Héritage Montréal


1876 1930

1876-1930

Apogée industriel

Vers la fin du 19e siècle, Pointe-Saint-Charles est le plus important secteur industriel de Montréal et du Canada. Le quartier compte 75 pourcent d'anglophones avec une majorité d'Irlandais et 25 pourcent de Canadiens-français en 1875. Des promoteurs immobiliers créent cette année-là le Village de Saint-Gabriel, comprenant l'est de Pointe-Saint-Charles ; il est annexé à Montréal en 1887.

Les communautés installées développent un milieu de vie en construisant des lieux à leur image. Des temples presbytériens, anglican, baptiste et méthodiste sont érigés rue Wellington, une importante artère du quartier. L'église irlandaise Saint-Gabriel (Irlandaise) et Saint-Charles (Canadienne-française) voient le jour, rue Centre. Polonais, Ukrainiens et Afro-américains s'ajoutent aux groupes culturels déjà présents. De nombreux immeubles à logements sont construits entre 1880 et 1920. Aux maisons ouvrières s'ajoutent des maisons contiguës décorées avec abondance, appartenant surtout aux ouvriers spécialisés et à la petite bourgeoisie locale. Les conditions des travailleurs sont pénibles alors et des grèves d'employés d'usines éclatent à la fin du 19e siècle et au début du 20e siècle.

Les dernières terres agricoles, celles des Sulpiciens, sont achetées en 1879 par des industriels. La gigantesque usine Northern Electric y est aménagée, et le Canadien National reconstruit complètement l'atelier ferroviaire.

Quelques parcs sont aménagés alors : le parc Monahan en 1910 (rebaptisé parc Marguerite-Bourgeoys en 1922), le terrain de jeux Fafard en 1932, puis les parcs Leber et d'Argenson. Les jeunes étudient aux écoles Lorne, Saint-Gabriel et Saint-Charles, qui fournissent un enseignement de grande qualité.

Image : HM_ARC_005501

Parc Marguerite-Bourgeoys

Photographie
20.3 cm
20.3 cm
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM6-D1901.135), © Héritage Montréal


1876-1930

Apogée industriel

Vers la fin du 19e siècle, Pointe-Saint-Charles est le plus important secteur industriel de Montréal et du Canada. Le quartier compte 75 pourcent d'anglophones avec une majorité d'Irlandais et 25 pourcent de Canadiens-français en 1875. Des promoteurs immobiliers créent cette année-là le Village de Saint-Gabriel, comprenant l'est de Pointe-Saint-Charles ; il est annexé à Montréal en 1887.

Les communautés installées développent un milieu de vie en construisant des lieux à leur image. Des temples presbytériens, anglican, baptiste et méthodiste sont érigés rue Wellington, une importante artère du quartier. L'église irlandaise Saint-Gabriel (Irlandaise) et Saint-Charles (Canadienne-française) voient le jour, rue Centre. Polonais, Ukrainiens et Afro-américains s'ajoutent aux groupes culturels déjà présents. De nombreux immeubles à logements sont construits entre 1880 et 1920. Aux maisons ouvrières s'ajoutent des maisons contiguës décorées avec abondance, appartenant surtout aux ouvriers spécialisés et à la petite bourgeoisie locale. Les conditions des travailleurs sont pénibles alors et des grèves d'employés d'usines éclatent à la fin du 19e siècle et au début du 20e siècle.

Les dernières terres agricoles, celles des Sulpiciens, sont achetées en 1879 par des industriels. La gigantesque usine Northern Electric y est aménagée, et le Canadien National reconstruit complètement l'atelier ferroviaire.

Quelques parcs sont aménagés alors : le parc Monahan en 1910 (rebaptisé parc Marguerite-Bourgeoys en 1922), le terrain de jeux Fafard en 1932, puis les parcs Leber et d'Argenson. Les jeunes étudient aux écoles Lorne, Saint-Gabriel et Saint-Charles, qui fournissent un enseignement de grande qualité.

Image : HM_ARC_004255

Pierre commémorant le décès de 6000 immigrants, Pointe-Saint-Charles, Qc, 1898
1898
Photographie
12 cm
10 cm
Musée McCord
© Musée McCord, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003005

Hôpital Alexandra, Pointe-Saint-Charles

Carte postale
8.7 cm
13.7 cm
Dinu Bumbaru
© Dinu Bumbaru © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004541

Ancienne Église Saint Gabriel avant l'incendie

Photographie
Fondation du patrimoine religieux du Québec
©Fondation du patrimoine religieux du Québec, ©Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004506

Église Saint-Charles

Photographie
Fondation du patrimoine religieux du Québec
©Fondation du patrimoine religieux du Québec, ©Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_001860

Rue Wellington, Pointe Saint-Charles

Carte postale
8.5 cm
13.5 cm
Dinu Bumbaru
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


1931 1965

1931-1965

Déclin industriel

La crise des années 1930 essouffle la vie économique du quartier. Au cours des décennies suivantes, le développement intensif du réseau autoroutier, l'ouverture de la Voie maritime et la fermeture du canal de Lachine achèvent de dégarnir le secteur de sa vitalité industrielle héritée du 19e siècle.

Malgré l'intensité manufacturière pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, comme à la Northern Electric, les entreprises et usines du quartier n'y trouvent plus leur compte et quittent vers de nouvelles zones industrielles en périphérie de la métropole, près des nouveaux axes de transport. Conséquemment, plusieurs habitants quittent ou se retrouvent au chômage. De 30 000 habitants en 1931, Pointe-Saint-Charles passe à 13 000 en 1991.

Pour survivre à ce déclin, la population se serre les coudes. Véritable précurseur dans le développement de l'action communautaire au Québec, Pointe-Saint-Charles se dote d'outils pour lutter contre la baisse du niveau de vie, la pollution liée à la longue présence des industries, la détérioration de la vie de quartier et de la qualité des logements.

Des loisirs, équipes sportives, chorales, théâtre, pique-nique et autres activités sont organisés par et pour la population. Cette cohésion donne au quartier une atmosphère villageoise pleine de fierté et dignité.

Image : HM_ARC_002303

Le bâtiment de la Northern Electric et le quartier du CN
Juillet 1930
Collection historique de Bell Canada
© Courtoisie de la Collection historique Bell Canada, © Héritage Montréal


1931-1965

Déclin industriel

La crise des années 1930 essouffle la vie économique du quartier. Au cours des décennies suivantes, le développement intensif du réseau autoroutier, l'ouverture de la Voie maritime et la fermeture du canal de Lachine achèvent de dégarnir le secteur de sa vitalité industrielle héritée du 19e siècle.

Malgré l'intensité manufacturière pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, comme à la Northern Electric, les entreprises et usines du quartier n'y trouvent plus leur compte et quittent vers de nouvelles zones industrielles en périphérie de la métropole, près des nouveaux axes de transport. Conséquemment, plusieurs habitants quittent ou se retrouvent au chômage. De 30 000 habitants en 1931, Pointe-Saint-Charles passe à 13 000 en 1991.

Pour survivre à ce déclin, la population se serre les coudes. Véritable précurseur dans le développement de l'action communautaire au Québec, Pointe-Saint-Charles se dote d'outils pour lutter contre la baisse du niveau de vie, la pollution liée à la longue présence des industries, la détérioration de la vie de quartier et de la qualité des logements.

Des loisirs, équipes sportives, chorales, théâtre, pique-nique et autres activités sont organisés par et pour la population. Cette cohésion donne au quartier une atmosphère villageoise pleine de fierté et dignité.

Image : HM_ARC_004373

Groupe d'ouvriers posant devant la Northern Electric

Photographie
Collection historique de Bell Canada
© Collection historique de Bell Canada, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002290

Femmes travaillant à l'assemblage des cordes de téléphone (Northern Electric)
Avant 1930
Photographie
Collection historique de Bell Canada
© Courtoisie de la Collection historique Bell Canada, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005509

Vie de quartier : maisons de Pointe-Saint-Charles

Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM94-EM1481-12.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005483

Vie de quartier: bureau de poste rue Centre

Photographie
24.1 cm
17.8 cm
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (R-3831.2(1679-2875).002, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005440

Photo Façade YMCA Pointe-Saint-Charles avec fenêtre en demi-lune

Photographie
Université Concordia
© Service des Archives de l’Université Concordia, © Héritage Montréal


1966 2008

1966-2008

L'irréductible quartier

D'une part relié à la ville par deux tunnels (Atwater et Wellington) et deux ponts (Charlevoix et des Seigneurs), le territoire est d'autre part fractionné par le chemin de fer et, hormis le métro Charlevoix ouvert en 1978, le quartier est mal desservi par les transports en commun. Apparus au début des années 1980, les PIQA (Programmes d'interventions des quartiers anciens) incitent à la rénovation et à l'embellissement des rues, ruelles et bâtiments.

Le secteur communautaire continue de rayonner pour agir sur des dossiers qui touchent à la lutte contre la pauvreté ou la détérioration des conditions de vie. La Clinique communautaire (prototype des CLSC), les Services juridiques communautaires, le Comité Information Logement et Action-Gardien de Pointe-Saint-Charles sont des exemples d'outils qui montrent le dynamisme de la population locale, sans compter le nombre de coopératives qui s'y développent.

Le nouveau plan de revitalisation en 1997, avec sa politique de relance de l'emploi local et sa politique de logement, réanime progressivement les lieux. La création de nombreuses unités d'habitation ou le recyclage de bâtiments industriels en incubateurs d'entreprises, lofts et condos, la réouverture en 2002 du canal comme lieu récréo-touristique, l'amélioration des espaces publics et la mise en valeur du patrimoine entraînent une certaine transformation du quartier liée notamment à l'arrivée de nouvelles populations.

Image : HM_ARC_002644

Vue arrière de la ferme Saint-Gabriel à partir du parc LeBer
2000
Photographie
Ville de Montréal, SDCQMVDE
© Ville de Montréal, SDCQMVDE, Direction des grands parcs et de la nature en ville, © Héritage Montréal


1966-2008

L'irréductible quartier

D'une part relié à la ville par deux tunnels (Atwater et Wellington) et deux ponts (Charlevoix et des Seigneurs), le territoire est d'autre part fractionné par le chemin de fer et, hormis le métro Charlevoix ouvert en 1978, le quartier est mal desservi par les transports en commun. Apparus au début des années 1980, les PIQA (Programmes d'interventions des quartiers anciens) incitent à la rénovation et à l'embellissement des rues, ruelles et bâtiments.

Le secteur communautaire continue de rayonner pour agir sur des dossiers qui touchent à la lutte contre la pauvreté ou la détérioration des conditions de vie. La Clinique communautaire (prototype des CLSC), les Services juridiques communautaires, le Comité Information Logement et Action-Gardien de Pointe-Saint-Charles sont des exemples d'outils qui montrent le dynamisme de la population locale, sans compter le nombre de coopératives qui s'y développent.

Le nouveau plan de revitalisation en 1997, avec sa politique de relance de l'emploi local et sa politique de logement, réanime progressivement les lieux. La création de nombreuses unités d'habitation ou le recyclage de bâtiments industriels en incubateurs d'entreprises, lofts et condos, la réouverture en 2002 du canal comme lieu récréo-touristique, l'amélioration des espaces publics et la mise en valeur du patrimoine entraînent une certaine transformation du quartier liée notamment à l'arrivée de nouvelles populations.

Image : HM_ARC_005493

Clinique communautaire sur la rue de Dublin

Photographie
12.7 cm
17.8 cm
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion des documents et archives(R-4657.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005515

Vie de quartier : maisons de Pointe-Saint-Charles

Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM94-EM1481-56.1), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005512

Vie de quartier : maisons de Pointe-Saint-Charles

Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM94-EM1481-3.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005516

Vie de quartier : maisons de Pointe-Saint-Charles

Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM94-EM1481-58.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002670

Vue aérienne du parc LeBer et de la ferme Saint-Gabriel

Photographie
Ville de Montréal, SDCQMVDE
© Ville de Montréal, SDCQMVDE, Direction des grands parcs et de la nature en ville (DM5 #134 105), © Héritage Montréal